Territorial Cup Trophy

Territorial Cup
The Territorial Cup is a trophy that is awarded annually to the winner of the college football game between the Arizona State University (ASU) Sun Devils and the University of Arizona (UA) Wildcats. It has also served as the symbol of the long standing rivalry between the two schools. The NCAA has certified it as the oldest award given for a rivalry game.

In 2001, then ASU President Lattie Coor made a request that the Territorial Cup be shared with the University of Arizona so the winner of the rivalry football game will take custody of the Cup for the ensuing year. President Coor and then UA President Peter Likens signed a protocol governing use of the Cup and assigning responsibility for the Cup to specific offices at each university. Reed & Barton

Reed and Barton
The original Cup is silverplate over a britannia base metal and was manufactured by Reed and Barton of Taunton, Massachusetts. It was a standard style trophy and priced at $20 ($439.89 in 2007 dollars) in Reed and Barton's 1910 catalog. The inscription reads "Arizona Foot League Championship 1899 Normal".

Territorial Cup Series Trophy
Reed and Barton has manufactured as well the new State Farm Territorial Cup Series Trophy. The design incorporates an updated version of the Territorial Cup mounted onto a base. The design of the base will include all of the sports that Arizona and Arizona State compete with each other. It will recount the history of the Territorial Cup itself, noting it as the oldest rivalry trophy in college football. In addition, there will be a bragging-rights area which will incorporate the logo of the school that currently retains the trophy.

The new State Farm Territorial Cup Series Trophy will be awarded for the first time this fall to the University of Arizona to recognize their accomplishments on the playing field in the first year of the rivalry series.

- Historical data courtesy of University Archives, ASU Libraries.